Skip to content
Join our Newsletter

Eagle Excellence Awards celebrates student leadership and service

Eagle Excellence Awards Show held on April 13th on the Armstrong Campus and April 20th on the Statesboro Campus.
Untitled design (10)

Georgia Southern University celebrated the leadership and service of students, student organizations, staff, and faculty during the annual Eagle Excellence Awards Show held on April 13th on the Armstrong Campus and April 20th on the Statesboro Campus. 

“For 25 years, we have celebrated the contributions of individuals and student organizations to the campus and community. These awards help showcase and recognize their efforts and successes," said Jodi Kennedy, Director of the Office of Leadership and Community Engagement. 

20 award categories were presented to both individuals and student organizations based on nominations submitted by students, faculty and staff who highlighted the contributions of the achievements and impact the nominee had on campus and in the community. Award winners were showcased during campus specific award shows with receptions for all award recipients. More than 200 students, organizations, faculty and staff were nominated for awards. 

To see a full list of awards presented, visit the Eagle Excellence Awards webpage here

To view photos from the Eagle Excellence Awards Show, click here for Armstrong and here for Statesboro.

Please find the award winners below.

Organization Leader of the Year

  1. Symone Crowder
  2. Lydia Phillis 

Advisor of the Year 

  1. Dr. Errol Stewart 

Organization with the best overall GPA

  1. Alpha Delta Pi
  2. Phi Mu Kappa Omicron

Best Collaborative Organization Program of the Year

  1. Pack the House in Pink

Program of the Year

  1. WandaVision: Into the Future

Best Diversity & Inclusion Event of the Year 

  1. Period Equity Movement 

Best New Organization

  1. Disabled Identities and Support 

Rising Star Award Winners

  1. Caitlin Nix
  2. Maegan Girolami
  3. Kamya Hyatt
  4. Darley Desormo

Southern Talon Award Winners

  1. Gabi Wiggill 
  2. Jasmine Alexander
  3. Nnamdi Ofuani 
  4. Edie Grice
  5. Donte White 
  6. Lisandra Vidal Velez 
  7. Kaelyn Spears

Higgs-McCarter Active Citizenship Award

  1. Kyla Clark

Kathryn Grube Unsung Hero


  1. Valeria Rivera 
  2. Jada Roberts 
  3. A. Shea Hall


  1. Dr. Gemma Skuraton
  2. Paul Bradley 

John F. Nolen, Jr. Hall of Leaders Award Winners

  1. Kathryn Mcintosh
  2. Janeyce Brown 
  3. Denayt Daniel 
  4. Corshavious Heard

Nick Mamalakis Hall of Leaders Award Winners

  1. Lindsey Walker

Graduate Student Leadership & Service Award

  1. Megan Przybysz 
  2. Hannah Lynch 
  3. Ehsanul Kabir
  4. Jordan Bordeaux

Organization Legacy Award

  1. Arabic Club
  2. National Student Speech Language Hearing Association