Skip to content
Join our Newsletter

Roy Thompson honored by Chamber at Annual Meeting

Video and full coverage of the Statesboro-Bulloch Chamber of Commerce Annual Meeting and Awards
L-R: Stuart Gregory, Roy Thompson, Deborah Thompson and Chad Wiggins Credit: Grice Connect

Bulloch County Commission Chair, Roy Thompson received the Chamber of Commerce's highest honor, The Bruce Yawn Lifetime Achievement Award on Thursday night. The award was presented to Chairman Thompson as part of the Chamber's annual meeting and awards ceremony.

Chad Wiggins, incoming Chamber Chair and Chamber board member Stuart Gregory presented the award to Thompson.

"Last year at this same time we lost an icon in our community, Mr. Bruce Yawn. He embodied everything you can think of when it comes who lived the life serving others," said Chad Wiggins. "We thought that it is fitting to name this award after Bruce Yawn."

"It is a real honor to present this award tonight. I met the recipient six months after moving to Statesboro. Through him I got to see what service to this community really looked like," said Stuart Gregory. "This award is given to someone who represents everything Bruce meant to this community, and that person tonight is Mr. Roy Thompson."

Chairman Thompson and his wife Deborah came together to accept the award.

"This is a great honor. Bulloch County is probably the best place in the world to live. I have been here a long time," said Chairman Roy Thompson. "Thank you so much for this honor."

"It is easy to do and serve a community you love and surrounded by people who love you, and people who pray for you and I say thank you to each of you for helping make Bulloch County a better place to live," said Deborah Thompson.

Allen Davis, Statesboro-Bulloch Chamber outgoing Chair recognized the outgoing board members.

Outgoing Board Members:

  • Mandy Fortune
  • Julie Morrison
  • Trish Tootle
L-R: Trish Tootle, Maney Fortune and Julie Morrison

2022 Past Chair Mandy Fortune introduced the 2023 Board:

Here is your 2023 Board:

2023 Chamber Board of Directors
  • Chad Wiggins - Chair
  • Michelle Davis - Vice chair
  • Allen Davis - Past Chair
  • Joel Hanner - Treasurer
  • Carolyn Ethridge - Secretary
  • Kyle Marrero
  • Stephen Pennington
  • Sarah Mccorkle
  • Jarod Mock
  • Andrew Lavoie
  • William Webb
  • April Miller
  • Garrett Clark
  • Stuart Gregory
  • Stephanie Neal
  • Boyd Green
  • John Roach
  • Tal Johnson
  • Ryan Henderson
  • Gloria Struthers
  • Trent Senkbeil
  • Megan Yawn

Awards Presentation

Start-up of the Year Award was presented to Tandoor & Tap

The award was presented by Dr. Kyle Marrero, President of GS.


Dr. Kyle Marrero, A.J. Jetwani and Vinod Jetwani

Small Business of the Year Award was presented to Rolling Monkey.

The award was presented by Stephen Pennington, CEO East Georgia Regional Medical Center.

L-R: Stephen Pennington, Garrett Clark and Meagan Clark

Employer of the Year Award was presented to Briggs and Stratton

The award was presented by John Roach, Market President for Morris Bank.

L-R: Jason Roesel and John Roach

Ambassador of the Year Award was presented to Jackie Farmer.

The award was presented by Stuart Gregory.

L-R: Stuart Gregory and Jackie Farmer

Leadership Bulloch Alumni Award was presented to Elizabeth Oliver

The award was presented by Chad Wiggins, Market President for Synovus.

L-R: Chad Wiggins and Elizabeth Oliver

Jennifer Davis, President of the Chamber recapped the challenge but extraordinary year that 2022 was for the Chamber.

Highlights included:

  • 70 new members
  • 20% increase in membership
  • 86% retention rate
  • 36 events with 6,000 attendees
  • 23 graduates of Leadership Bulloch
  • 30 graduates of Youth Leadership Bulloch

Chad Wiggins, the incoming Chair, expressed how excited he is about leading the chamber this year. He said the chamber has assembled a great team and staff backed the strength of and impressive board of directors.

Allen Davis, the outgoing Chair echoed Chad's sentiments. "We are grateful for all of you and your support of the Chamber," said Davis. "We have assembled a leadership team in Jennifer Davis, Mandy Broadwell and Landon Haralson who have elevated our Chamber making it an elite organization in our community."

Live stream of the meeting and awards presentation