Skip to content
Join our Newsletter

27 students from surrounding counties received scholarships from the Statesboro Kiwanis Club

These graduating seniors have demonstrated academic excellence and a commitment to leadership and service within their schools and the broader community.

On May 23, 2024, 25 local students received a $2,000 Kiwanis Memorial Scholarships, alongside two more students who received a $2,500 Martha Watring-Ross Kiwanis Memorial Scholarship. The luncheon took place at the Kiwanis Ogeechee Fairgrounds.

The students receiving the Kiwanis Memorial Scholarship were chosen because they are graduating seniors who have demonstrated exceptional academic excellence and have shown remarkable commitment to leadership and service within their school and the broader community. These deserving students have displayed remarkable dedication and have set a shining example for their peers.

Here are the recipients, along with their schools.

Bulloch Academy

  • Olivia Wren
  • Kate Mock

Claxton High School

  • Mollie Lane

David Emanuel County

  • Billy Martin

Emanuel County Institute

  • Dhahami Salgado 

Screven County High School

  • Davis Doss III

Southeast Bulloch High School

  • Kara Mattos
  • Jackson Thigpen
  • Hudson Bosley
  • Ava King
  • Will Nelson
  • Anna Wellman
  • Katelyn Moore
  • Grace Turner
  • Brannen Nelson
  • Audrey Thomas
  • Kaylie Brown

Statesboro High School

  • Nicholes Cortes
  • William James
  • Eli Compton
  • James Ryall
  • Abigail Smith
  • Yuridia Rodriguez-Diaz
  • Carson Smith
  • Luke Waters

The Martha Watring-Ross Kiwanis Memorial Scholarship is named in honour of the late Martha Watring-Ross. She was a member of the Kiwanis Club, and a long time educator who loved to see young people pursue their education. 

These awards are presented to graduating seniors who, beyond their academic excellence, leadership, and service, have demonstrated a commitment to Kiwanis through their efforts in Builders Club, Key Club, or service to the broader Kiwanis organization. 

The two students receiving this $2,500 scholarship are Davis Grovenstein (Southeast Bulloch High School) and Kobe Robinson (Statesboro High School).